Day Care & Preschools

Child care in the region varies in size as well as in scope. However, if your priorities are searching for child care with a progressive curriculum, before & after school programs, or a smaller day care setting, we recognize the importance of making the right choice for your family. Businesses listed further below on the page are local certified preschools and day care providers that may be just what you are looking for.

The following report, "Access to Affordable, Quality Child Care in Pottawatomie County, Kansas", was compiled through a collaborative effort by the Pottawatomie County Child Care Task Force and the K-State Research and Extension Applied Research in Child Health and Enhancing Resilience (ARCHER) Lab. This report covers strategic goals and steps for the development of new and creative programs to enhance the availability and affordability of day care for children from birth to five years. The link below will take you to a draft of this report.

https://www.pottawatomie.k-state.edu/docs/attachment%201.pdf 


Child Care Businesses

Business Contact Address Contact Phone Contact Email
Cool Care Club   2121 Blue Hills Rd
Manhattan
(785) 341-5290  
Loving Arms Childcare   1531 St. Marys Rd.
Junction City
(785) 238-2767  
Boys and Girls Club

Abby Treadwell

220 S Fifth St Manhattan

(785) 341-0811

wamego@bgclubmanhattan.com

Brilliant Beginnings Jenni Ebert 17680 Old Post Rd Wamego

(785) 456-1230 jenniebert76@yahoo.com 
Hope Lutheran Kristi Hirsch 3560 Dempsey Rd Manhattan

(785) 587-9400 hirschkk@gmail.com
Little Love Bugs Heather Melton 5574 Maefield Dr Wamego

(785) 456-4847 little.lovebugs@hotmail.com
Creche Facility

Micah Stutz

8200 S Port Dr Manhattan

(785) 320-7000 micah@crechemanhattan.com


Jamboree Daycare

Jenna Reid

8385 US-24 Manhattan (785) 370-3966 jenna@jamboreedaycare.com

Adventure Time   721 Leonard St,
Onaga
   
NEK-CAP Angie Hobbs   (785) 535-2070 ahobbs@nekcap.org

Child Care Contacts

Contact Contact Phone Contact Email 
Harriet Schmidt   hdks@bluevalley.net
Eileen Burenheide   bfam@bluevalley.net
Kathy Wagoner   64wagoner19@gmail.com
Shannon Downs   downss@usd320.com
Misty Williams   mistywilliams107@yahoo.com
Cristina Hargitt

(785) 477-0331

chargitt@ku.edu

Mary Altenhofen (785) 457-3719 maltenhofen@pottcounty.org
Daryn Soldan (785) 456-7849 daryn@wamegochamber.com
Lisa Kenworthy (785) 457-3719 lkenworthy@pottcounty.org
Erin Tynon (785) 457-3319 etynon@ksu.edu
Michael Tomson- DeGreeff (785) 383-3763 umcpastormichael@gmail.com
Rick Hernandez (785) 456-7872 rick@wamegochm.org

Child Care Facilities in Pottawatomie County, Kansas

Source: Kansas Statistical Abstract 2017
Children Aged 0-4: 1,870 Facilities Capacity
Child Care Center 6 301
Group Day Care Home 12 144
Head Start Child Care Center 1 20
Licensed Day Care Home 51 510
Preschool 0 0
Total 70 975