Health & Safety

*Note: If you are needing emergency assistance, please call 911 for the most immediate response to your situation.*

Riley County

Via Christi Manhattan

Via Christi Hospital in Manhattan is a healthcare leader in northeastern Kansas, with 150 physicians, 500 employees and 300 volunteers serving the people of Manhattan and the surrounding areas with a wide range of quality health and wellness services. These include radiology, a therapy center, specialty center, emergency services, home care, immediate care, occupational medicine, senior communities, a family medicine clinic, and many more!

Via Christi Manhattan's address and contact information are listed below.

Via Christi Hospital

1823 College Avenue

Manhattan, Kansas 66502

(785) 776-3322

Information courtesy of Via Christi Hospital, Manhattan.

Healthcare 1


Riley County Police Department (RCPD) has been working since 1857 to protect and affirm our community, proudly dispatching 107 sworn officers and employing 98 civilians currently. Their mission is "To reduce crime and improve the quality of life for the citizens we serve". The Riley County Police Department contact information can be found below.

Riley County Police Department

1001 Seth Child Road

Manhattan, KS 66502

(785) 537-2112


Information courtesy of Riley County Police Department.

Riley County Fire District #1

Manhattan Fire Department

Riley County Fire District #1 provides services to all unincorporated areas of Riley County. In addition, Riley County Fire District #1 provides services for the cities of Leonardville, Ogden, Randolph, and Riley. Services are provided by a group of dedicated volunteers who take great pride in what they do.


The Manhattan, Kansas Fire Department is a career fire/emergency medical service serving the city since 1892. The Manhattan Fire Department provides a wide range of services to Manhattan residents. The mission of the Manhattan Fire Department is to be dedicated to helping others and to preserve life and property by being well trained in intervention, prevention and education. 

2000 Denison Ave.

Manhattan, KS 66502

(785) 587-4504

Pottawatomie County

Wamego Health Center

Wamego Health Center is a 25-bed Critical Access Hospital, located in the heart of the Wamego community. Access to quality healthcare is essential and we are privledged to provide care for the residents of Pottawatomie and surrounding counties. With qualified physicians on call, our Emergency Department provides care 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We house our own Laboratory, Imaging, and Rehabilitation departments giving us the capability of offering a full range of services for our patients with the convenience of one visit. We are also fortunate to offer the services of our Primary Care Physicians, an Internal Medicine Provider and a Nurse Practitioner in our on site Wamego Family Clinic. We are committed to making your stay at Wamego Health Center safe, comfortable and confidential. Our associates embrace our values and care about our patients and their well-being. Wamego Health Center's contact info can be found below.

Wamego Health Center

711 Genn Dr.

Wamego, KS 66547

(785) 456-2295

Information courtesy of Wamego Health Center.

Community HealthCare System

With more than 450 associates at seven locations serving a 10,000-square-mile service area, Community HealthCare System (CHCS) is a first-class, nonprofit health care system with a longstanding tradition of providing compassionate, high-quality care to the rural communities of northeast Kansas. As we continue to integrate and expand into the areas we serve, CHCS is making it easier for Kansans to access the care they need.

Pottawatomie County campuses:


606 1st St, Centralia, KS 66415 (785) 857-3334, (Monday-Friday 8AM-5PM)


6221 5th St., Corning, KS 66417 (785) 868-2000, (Tuesday 4PM-7PM)


112 E. 2nd St., Frankfort, KS 66427 (785) 292-4451, (Monday-Thursday 8AM-5PM, Friday 7:30AM-3PM)


1603 W. 4th St., Holton, KS 66436 (785) 364-3205, (M-Th 7AM-7PM, F 7AM-6PM, Sat. 8AM-noon)


120 W. 8th St., Onaga, KS 66521 (785) 889-4241, (Monday-Friday 7AM-5PM, Sat. 8:30-11AM)

St. Marys

206 Grand Ave., St. Marys, KS 66536 (785) 437-3734, (Monday-Friday 8AM-5PM, Sat. 9-11AM)


302 Main St., Westmoreland, KS 66549 (785) 457-9890, (Monday-Thursday 8AM-5PM, Friday 8AM-4PM)

Information courtesy of Community HealthCare System.

Wamego Police Department

Our mission is to work in partnership with the community to provide prompt, professional police service that place an emphasis on enhancing the quality of life, while maintaining respect for individual rights, human dignity, building confidence and respect between the Citizens of Wamego and their police department.

408 Elm St.

Wamego, KS 66547

(785) 456-9553

Info courtesy of Wamego Police Department.


Pottawatomie County Sheriff's Department

The Pottawatomie County Sheriff’s Office is dedicated to providing services that are fair, impartial and effective; while holding its employees to the highest standard of morality and accomplishing our tasks with a spirit of excellence, both efficiently and professionally, being responsible and accountable to the public we serve, as well as each other. We believe in the concept of continuous improvement, financial accountability and always striving to be the best we can be in all of our endeavors.

108 N. 1st St.

Westmoreland, KS 66549

(785) 457-3481

Info courtesy of Pottawatomie County Sheriff's Department.

St. Marys Police Department

The St Marys Police Department consists of a Police Chief, a Captain, three patrol officers, five part-time officers, and one reserve officer. The Department provides year-round 24/7 coverage and is charged with enforcing both state law and city ordinances. Primary duties include patrolling the city to deter crime, monitoring vehicular traffic, investigating accidents, robberies, burglaries, civil disturbances, abuse of drugs, missing children, and domestic disputes.   

200 S. 7th St.

St. Marys, KS 66536

(785) 437-2311  

Info courtesy of St. Marys Police Department.

Pottawatomie County Rural Fire Dept.

The Pottawatomie County Fire Supervisor is dedicated to the protection of life and property in the rural and urban areas of Pottawatomie County. Pottawatomie County Fire provides the community with fire safety, safety education, and fire prevention programs, while providing the mitigation of fire, medical,and related emergencies with professionally trained personnel. This is accomplished by using teamwork, resources, mutual aid agreements and contracts. The Fire Supervisor is Jared Barnes.

Wamego Fire Department

Fire protection in Wamego is provided by a volunteer force of around 24 persons. The department is quartered in a 7,000 square foot building, located at 514 Plum St. Additional response is available by mutual aid agreement with every public fire department in Pottawatomie County, as well as Wabaunsee Township in Wabaunsee County.  

Additional Fire Departments in Pottawatomie County

Fire Department Address Phone Number
Belvue Fire Department P.O. Box 97, Belvue, KS 66407 (785) 456-7698
Blue Township Fire Rescue 3503 Scottie Lane, Manhattan, KS 66502 (785) 776-3182
City of Onaga Fire Department 319 Prospect St., Onaga, KS 66521 (785) 889-4456
St. Marys Fire Department 601 N. 7th St., St. Marys, KS 66536 (785) 437-6459
Wabaunsee Township Fire Department 63 Elm St., Wamego, KS 66547 (785) 456-6263
Louisville Township Fire Department 17225 Cannonball Rd., Wamego, KS 66547 (785) 456-9506
Westmoreland Township 7 Fire Department 510 Campbell St., Westmoreland, KS  (785) 457-3736